Om Namah Shivaya = Oh Lord of Nothing and Everything, I bow to you!

Today is Tuesday and its Maha Shivratri. I can’t think of writing anything other than Lord Shiva. Shiva the almighty is one of the three important Hindu Gods, the other two are Brahma and Vishnu. Lord Shiva is known with different names.  Mahadev being the most used one.

Other are written below:

  • Adi Yogi, the first yoga guru.
  • Rudra, the ferocious destroyer of evil.
  • Nataraja, the Lord of Dance.
  • Dakshinamurthy, the Greatest Teacher.

Someone who is called as the Destroyer or aggressive person is also called as the greatest teacher and we have enticing story that speaks about the Lord Shiva.

Long ago 15,000 years ago, in the mountain ranges of Himalayas there was a person who appeared unnoticed and caught the attention of all people living around the place. The reason for catching attention being the intense ‘Nrutyam’ – ‘Dance’. He is none other than Lord Shiva. All those who tried talking to him or stopping couldn’t do anything looking at his speed and intensity. He was dancing with so much passion that it took him 80 solar years and 84 lunar years to come out of the action. Finally, when he rests he could see only 7 people.  Lord Shiva asked the 7 to leave the place but in vain as the 7-people wanted to know more about Lord Shiva and understand him.

That’s how Lord Shiva gives all his knowledge to the 7 in every field like Astrology, Science, Nrutyam, Art, Culture, Spirituality and so on! If you are wondering who that 7 seven are, they are called as the Sapta Rushis or Seven Sages. The sages who carried wealth of knowledge and moved across the globe on the directions of Lord Shiva the Adi Guru and propagated the Knowledge.

The Seven Rushis are:

  1. Agasthya – Traveled across India and propagated Knowledge.
  2. Angirasa – Stays with Lord Shiva and serves the Lord.
  3. Atri – Travels to Northern and Eastern India and Propagates the Knowledge.
  4. Bhrigu – Goes to South America Countries and delivers the Knowledge.
  5. Gouthama – Goes to Southern India and becomes the reason for Triambhakeshwar temple. River Godavari was previously known as Gouthami and the reason being Sage Gouthama.
  6. Kashyappa – Travels to the Middle Eastern Countries to propagate the knowledge.
  7. Vashsitha – Travels to Eastern Part of World to propagate the Knowledge.

It is believed that all the 7 Rushis have disappeared after imparting the Knowledge to the mankind. Whenever there is requirement for the knowledge these Rushi’s seem to appear on earth and impart them to the generations. Otherwiese we can spot them on the night sky as Sapta Rushi Mandal. This is about the Rushi’s that Lord Shiva created.

Talking about the Lord himself, Lord Shiva is not generally worshipped as ‘Shankara’ his Human avatar but as ‘Shiva’ which means ‘What is Not’ this is represented in the form of Lingam that self-radiates. There are 12 such Jyotirlinga Shektra’s all across India. Jyothir Lingam means self-radiating lingam.

Each of the Jyotirlinga’s are described below:

  1. Somnath – The first Jyothir Linga in the state of Gujarat and it is Somnath. Som meaning Nectar(Honey) and Nath means Ruler or King. Here the worshipper connects his body with the energy of Shiva like the way nectar drops from above.
  2. Nageshwar – Located around 200 km from Somnath Nageshwar is a Jyotir Linga with a five-headed cobra. These Five heads represent the five senses of human body which we need to control. Visiting this place and worshipping Nageshwar helps us to overcome these senses.
  3. Kedarnath – Located at the highest elevation this is the most difficult Jyoti Linga to reach to. Pilgrims have to go through lot of hardships to reach to Kedarnath indicating the amount of difficulties that one has to overcome in life to attain enlightenment.
  4. Vishwanath – Vishwanath means the King of Universe. As the name suggests this is the one of the most powerful Jyotir Linga which embodies all the souls of the universe and is considered to be the lord of all.
  5. Maha Kaleshwar Ujjain – This is one of the last journeys that one has to undertake and Maha Kaleshwar holds the secret of Death and the passing of the soul from one body to another.
  6. Omkareshwar – Located near Bhopal Omkareshwar is a Jyotir linga which signifies knowledge in the form of ‘OM’ which is the first alphabet in any one’s education.
  7. Triambhakeshwar – This Jyotir linga is located near Nashik on the banks of holy river Gouthami or Godavari. Triambhakeshwar signifies the third eye of lord Shiva which is spiritual and has lot of untapped energy.
  8. Grishneshwar – Legend has it that Goddess Parvathi visited Ellora caves and has made a Shiv ling with turmeric and sandal present there. Then she started meditating in front of Jyotir Ling as there was lot of peace and calmness around. Anybody looking for spirituality and peace should visit Grishneshwar.
  9. Vaidyanath –Vaidyanath is about Healing and people suffering from any disease tend to get healed by worshipping the Jyotir ling here.
  10. Bheemshankar – This Jyoti Ling is located on the top of Western Ghats near Pune. This is believed to be emerged on its own and has lot of earthly power or latent energy associated with it.
  11. Mallikarjun– This Jyotir ling is located in Srisailam on banks of river Krishna. Here lord Shiva is worshipped as Mallikarjun or God of Jasmine flowers which indicates purity, love and serenity.
  12. Rameswaram – This is the last Jyotir Ling located in Tamil Nadu on the coast of Bay of Bengal. It is said that Lord Ram before proceeding to Lanka has visited Rameswaram and prayed to Lord Shiva to give him the power to defeat Ravana who is also a devotee of Shiva.

Knowing about the Adi Guru and the Jyotir Lings on Shivratri day one is blessed with spiritualism and divinity.

Om Namah Shivaya! #OmNamahShivaya #LordShiva