Bhagavadgita - A Guide to Life

Bhagavadgita Chapter 18 Moksha Sannyas Yoga Verse 71

Shraddhaavaan anasooyashcha shrinuyaadapi yo narah;So’pi muktah shubhaamllokaan praapnuyaat punyakarmanaam.

The man also who hears this, full of faith and free from malice, he, too, liberated, shall attain to the happy worlds of those of righteous deeds.


This shloka talks about Lord furthering the discussion on those who listen to Gita that He narrated to Arjuna. He talks about the importance of listening to Gita without any malice and with full faith. Faith moves mountains and malice melts even those mountains. So, a person who removes the malice from his heart and imposes full faith will also be liberated says Lord Krishna. Not only, that he will also attain the happy worlds for all the right things that he has done. 

Extending Interpretation to Mankind’s Life!

What is important to note here is that a person who with full faith and without any malice listens to Gita will attain the happy worlds. What are these happy worlds? In the beginning chapters of Gita, we have discussed about the 7 lokas that exists above us. First is our Bhu lok, second is Bhuvar lok and the third is swarga lok where happiness starts. But the happiness seen in swarga lok is materialitic and sensual where there is wine, women and wealth. Above that swarga lok is Mahar loka, inhabited by different sages and that is where the real happiness starts. In mahar lok, people spend time meditating for years together where they assimilate all the knowledge that they gained in the Bhu lok and try to make sense of it. 

Above that Mahar lok is the Jana lok or it is also called as Mahar Lok II or the upper realm of mahar lok. This lok is inhabited by the informed beings and their knowledge travels at the speed of the light. Ask them about anything, they can go there, see that and tell you what it is. This state is known as the state of Supreme knowledge. A person comes back from Jana lok for the one last time to attain samadhi or salvation to go the 6th lok called Tapah lok where there are 4 kumaras who help Brahma in creation and the souls living there are immortal or liberated souls whose next destination is Brahma lok or the loka of salvation. So, listening to Gita with faith and without malice takes people to Mahar lok and above says Lord Krishna. 

By Sriram

A Teacher trying to Learn new things and explore the world each day!

Believe in Happiness by the virtue of sacrifice and forgiveness.

Leave a Reply